The Swifter species.

History.

The Swifter is a productive sheep, developed in the seventies by the Agricultural University in Wageningen (Holland) to improve the productivity of the sheep population.

The Swifter is formed from a cross-breed between the Texel species and the Flemish milk sheep.

In this way, the most economically important characteristics of both races were combined in a single race. Swifters are used as meat lamb ancestral animals. For the propagation of the race now only Swifters are being used. Because the farm, the "Minderhoutshoeve" where the first Swifters were held in Flevoland in the town of Swifterbant, the new variety was named "Swifter".

There appeared to be much demand for this new breed and there was a need for registration.

On 24-11-1982, the first general meeting was held. A board was elected on 2-12-1982 and "The Swifter Sheep Pedigree" or herdbook started.

Description of the species.

Swifter sheep are white, often with a black nose and hooves, which however sometimes appear pale. Especially on the ears but also the rest of the body black spots may be present. The tail is preferably free of wool. This is hygienic and interferes less with breeding. They are large and especially long animals. This gives benefits regarding weight, pregnancy and food intake. Ewes often weigh more than 70 kgs and rams can reach 130 kg. The legwork has to be correct and strong, not to coarse or fine and in proportion to the height and length of the body so they can move smoothly and elegantly. The hooves are hard and healthy. The mouth is wide enough and the head is narrow. This facilitates the birth.

On average they have a higher longevity than most known species. Therefore new ewe lambs do not have to be frequently introduced into the flock. Thus resulting in cost effectiveness and better selection.

Their vitality and agility are remarkable.  Stale birth almost never occurs.

The production of Easter lambs is possible because they have a long rut season. They are also very fertile animals. The ewe lambs may be used for breeding the year of their birth and on average will give birth to 1.85 offspring. The older ewes will give birth to an average of 2.5 lambs. At the best companies this may run up to 3 lambs or more.

This doubles one's income relative to less productive varieties. Because they usually give birth to multiple lambs initiating the birth process rarely is a problem. Ceasarian births are extremely rare.

Another advantage is the Swifter's good udder quality and their high milk production. The udder should be sufficiently developed and strongly attached to the body. The teats should be normally developed and well placed.

The many triplets a Swifter will give birth to the ewe normally will nurture and bring up by itself. It is a friendly and easy to keep sheep with very good parental properties. The milk richness significantly improves the growth rate of Swifter lambs over pure beef breeds. The shorter fattening period reduces costs. Ram lambs should grow a minimum of 250gr./day to be approved for breeding. For slaughter lamb production Swifters can be fertilized by a meat lamb animal. The slaughter quality of this Swifter meat lamb is excellent, the carcass value is 98.6% in comparison with a pure meat lamb. This negligible difference is made up for by a higher number of birth.

Within the Swifter breed many ARR / ARR lambs are available at reasonable prices. These animals are resistant to scrapie and BSE. This is good for the animals but more importantly safe for human health.

Evolution.

The Swifter is an easy sheep with a high production. This is why the race is gaining popularity. In the entire pedigree, there are about 17,000 sheep and the number of members has reached 330. In Belgium their number, in ten years, has grown from 4 upto 40.

It is the fastest growing pedigree in the low countries. Also outside the pedigree many Swifters are held. Large companies that want to get an income from slaughter lambs, often use Swifters. The swifter is the business type of choice!!

Pedigree delegate, Mathieu Kesters.

For more information, use the following link:

Le mouton de race Swifter.

Historique.

Le Swifter est une race ovine productive créée dans les années septante par la Faculté Agronomique de Wageningen (NL) pour améliorer la productivité du cheptel ovin.

Le Swifter est issu du croisement entre le mouton Texel et le mouton laitier flamand.

Les caractéristiques sont utilisés comme mère d'agneaux à viande. Seuls des Swifters sont actuellement utilisés pour déveloper la race. C'est du fait que les premiers Swifters ont été tenus à la ferme "De Minderhoutshoeve", située à Swifterbant en Flevoland (NL), que la nouvelle race a été appelée Swifter.

La demande envers cette nouvelle race semblait forte et un besoin de système d'enregistrement se fit sentir.

Le 24 novembre 1982 s'est tenu la première assemblée générale.  Un conseill fut élu et le 2 décembre 1982 le Herd Book du Swifter vit le jour.

Description de la race.

Les Swifters sont blancs, souvent avel la pointe du nez et les sabots noirs, mais parfois clairs.  Des tâches noires peuvent se retrouver le plus souvent sur les oreilles mais parfois aussi sur le reste du corps.  La queue est de préférence dépourvue de laine.  Cela est plus hygiénique et gêne moins lorst de la saillie.  ce sont de grands mais sourtout de longs animaux.  Cela donne des avantages en ce qui concerne le poids, la gestation et la prise d'aliments.  Les brébis pèsent souvent plus de 70 kg et les béliers peuvent atteindre les 130 kg.  La forme des jambes doit être correcte et solide, pas trop grossière ou trop fine et en rapport avec la taille et la longueur du corps de façon à ce que l'animal puisse se déplacer de facçon élégante.  Les sabots sont durs et sains.  Le museau est suffisament large et la tête est fine.  Cela facilite l'agnelage.

Leur longévité moyenne est supérieure à celle des races connues chez nous.  Cela implique que l'on doit moins souvent insérer de nouvelles agnelles.  Cela coûte dons moins et la sélection peut donc être plus rigoureuse.

Leur vitalité et leur agilité sont remarquables.  Les cultures gâtées sont rares.

La production d'agneaux de Pâques est possible dans la mesure où la période de lutte est longue.  Ce sont également des animaux très fertiles.  Les agnelles peuvent être mise à la reproduction et donnent en moyenne 1,85 agneaux.  Les brebis donnent en moyenne 2,5 agneaux.  Les meilleurs élévages obtiennent des moyennes de plus de 3 agneaux.

C'est ainsi que l'on double ses rentrées par rapport a d'autres races moins productives.  L'agnelage est rarement un problème dans la mesure où les doubles et les triples sont fréquents.  Les césariennes sont très rares.

Le fait que les Swifters possèdent un bon pis et donnent beaucoup de lait est un autre grand avantage.  Le pis doit être bien développé et bien attaché.  Les trayons doivent être normalement développés et bien placés.

Ene brebis Swifter peut allaiter et élever seule les nombreux triples.  C'est un mouton sympathique et facile à tenir possédant un très bon instinct maternel.  La croissance des agneaux de boucherie issus de Swifters est, vu la quantité de lait disponible, beaucoup plus rapide.  La période d'engraissement plus courte influence les coûts.  Les agneaux doivent prendre minimum 250 gr par jour pour être admis à la reproduction.  L'on peut, pour la production d'agneaux de boucherie, faire saillir les Swifters par des béliers de race viandeuse.  La qualité des carcasses des agneaux issud de ce croisement est excellente: 98,6% par rapport à un viandeux pur race.  Cette différence insignificante est largement compensée par le nombre beaucoup plus élevée de naissances

De nombreux agneaux ARR/ARR à des prix raisonnables peuvent se trouver au sein de Herd Book Swifter.  Ces animaux sont résistants à l'ESB et à la scrapie.  Ceci est bon pour les animaux mais aussi principalement bon pour la santé humaine.

Evolution.

Le Swifter est donc un mouton facile et doté d'une haute productivité.  C'est sûrement pour ces raisons que le Swifter a tant d'adeptes.  Environ 17.000 brebis et plus de 330 éleveurs passionnés se retrouvent au sein du Herd Book.  Le nombre d'éleveurs belges est passé, en 10 ans, de 4 à 40.

Il s'agit du Herd Book le plus expansif des Plats Pays.  De nombreux Swifters sont également détenus hors Herd Book.  Nous rencontrons très souvent, au sein de grandes entreprises qui veulent s'occasionner des revenus par l'engraissement d'agneaux de boucherie, des Swifters.  Le Swifter est donc le mouton type pour ce genre d'élevage!

Représentant du Herd Book, Mathieu Kesters.

Pour plus d'informations, utilisez les données de contact: